And what would you like on your sandwich? “Bread.”

Okay, so I shouldn’t get so excited about the inclusion of an additional fast-food chain into the small list of options I can grab a bite to eat at.  If there is one benefit to being gluten-free, it is that you are forced NOT to eat a bunch of processed crap. Having said that however, I have a confession to make:  I AM excited.

I am excited to the point of giddy delirium, THAT is how excited I am.  Now, quickly, before the newness of this news wears off and rational behavior returns, I will share with you my train of thought upon hearing that the Subway sandwich shop in Duluth was going to be one of the trial locations for gluten-free sandwiches.

Oh.  Oh!  Wait!  I can eat a SANDWICH!?  In public?   

It is at this point that I mentally envision myself in line at a Subway…picture the scene:  I am waiting behind 3-4 people (a luxury, because usually I try to go to places in off-peak hours so as not to upset people when my meal takes longer – Chipotle, I’m talking to you, here), the sandwich gal is behind the counter making other people’s sandwiches.  She turns to the dude in front of me, “What would you like on your sandwich?”  He mumbles something about, “…extra pickles, lettuce, hold the mayo, blahblahblah…”  His sandwich gets passed down the line, wrapped and bagged.  Then it is my turn.

Now, mentally, this is where my dream glosses over the necessary “I need a gluten-free sandwich, please wash your hands, put on clean gloves, etc……”  It is important and will have to be said in reality, but this is MY daydream, and in THIS version, that’s already been said.  The lady turns to me, ” and what would you like on your sandwich?”

And I triumphantly declare, “BREAD!!!  I would like BREAD on my sandwich!”

Now, even in my dream I can see that I am wearing a sloppy, silly grin on my face.  Even visualizing the elevated dorkditude that I have risen to does not mar this elation I am feeling.  I turn my head proudly, as though I just declared world peace among nations.  The other patrons, luckily, don’t seem to think anything is amiss….even in my dream I auto-correct.

Funny how actually receiving and eating the sandwich isn’t a part of this fantasy (Is it because I am afraid it will taste like cardboard?  Maybe.  Is it because what I am actually excited about is an additional opportunity to act like a normal person again?  I’ll leave that one to the reader to discern.)

It looks like a trip to Duluth might be in order.  I hear it is lovely this time of year.

Tags: , , ,

About AccidentalCeliac

I am an architect living in Minneapolis who was diagnosed with Celiac Disease. I also am a mother of two children, one of whom has Celiac Disease, as well. This blog is about all things related to navigating the many terrains of gluten-free living. I hope to share tips and experiences, post news and fun ideas, vent a little, and share anything else that has to do with this lifestyle that so many people are now living with.

5 responses to “And what would you like on your sandwich? “Bread.””

  1. Rosie says :

    Alissa, your blog is great fun. Good work!

  2. Duluth or Bust says :

    I am happy to hop in the car, go to Duluth with you and keep an open mind… However, I am having a panic attack thinking about watching them try to not cross-contaminate:)

    • AccidentalCeliac says :

      I’ve heard that they use pre-sealed knives and such, and based on my reading from back when they debuted this in DC and TX, they were quite thorough in their process. Time to test that in practice, methinks….

  3. jennifer mclaughlin says :

    Love your blog 🙂 I’m so excited and so scared about Subway…all at the same time. You know what scares me “if you are sensitive then we will get your toppings from the back” which means “otherwise we grab them from the toppings that are out with the crumbs in them”! Oh, and can you imagine being in one of those long Subway lines and then expecting that worker whi is flustered to actually keep the gloves uncontaminated(in a place they bake bread and cookies) while going to the back and getting you these toppings? OMG, it scares the daylights outta me. I want to just enjoy it though and not feel like I’m putting everybody out. And I am so happy Subway is doing this…but why not do it all the way right! Have separate toppings out…so it’s not a huge issue to get to them. I know I ask for too much!

  4. Tylia says :

    Hey! I think I was at the Subway in Duluth. I remember mentally noting “Hey, they have gluten-free options. How nice”. It is on London and 21st Ave.

Leave a Reply

